cowl knitting in lace technique

I have been busy knitting a shawl since last sunday (august 16). I should say that the progress is pretty snaily. It’s because we — my husband and I — are tidying up and repainting our house. And that, too, we started last sunday. What a sunday! I should say.

In spite of the slow progress I do enjoy knitting this shawl. The yarn I use is 100% acrylic. It’s very soft and friendly to the skin. The color is dark blue. I like it very much. It looks shiny. And this morning I finished the first bulk of yarn. So I am now working on the second one. I am very curious how long it will be after this second bulk of yarn is finished.

DSCF0133-edited 02

 

This shawl to-be is my second shawl I knit in lace technique. The first one I made a month ago using another type of yarn which was much thinner. And it was not really a shawl. It was a cowl neck. Well, I am actually still confused about the difference between a cowl neck and a infinity scarf. Some say that a cowl neck is of short length of diameter while infinity scarf is of much wider diameter. Oh I don’t know. Whatever the definition is I made one of these two.DSCF9209-edited 02

Although I made it too wide in diameter in the beginning, and should therefore opened all the stitches and restarted all over again, it turned out nice. As my very first experience of knitting in lace technique I was satisfied with the result.

DSCF9940-edited 02

DSCF9249-edited 02

I chose a simple lace knitting pattern for that cowl neck. Kind of zig zag small holes. It had been warm and bright summery days when I was knitting the cowl. So most of the time I was knitting it at my back garden. But whenever I sat there knitting it, it was either in the morning or in the late afternoon till early evening. During the day I knitted it in the house as it was too hot to sit in the back garden.

Unfortunately I forgot to take a click of the final result. And it is already on its way to the other side of the world now. Uhm… well.. maybe I will make that lace pattern again… someday.

* * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

